It’s a Con! And Then Another Con!

I’ve just got back from NineWorlds, which was friendly, inspiring and so, so much fun. More on that soon, but at the moment I don’t have time for a long post because I’m getting ready for Loncon3, which starts on Thursday. Eep. Just enough time to eat some salad and vegetables after a weekend of random bar food and snacks, catch up on my tea deficit, get all my geeky T-shirts through the wash and do any running repairs to my gorgon hat.

Here’s what I’m up to at Loncon3:

  • I’ll be helping out here and there with the pirate programming. (Arr, but I be but a mere deck scrubber. The Pirate King be leadin’ the crew.)  If you’d like a 10 minute slot to read your own work at Loncon, you can find out how to get involved with the pirate program here and follow the updates for the pirates on twitter and Facebook. You don’t need to be published, all are welcome!
  • Friday 1pm – 6pm T Party Critique Workshop
    Places for this are now fully booked.  I’ll be joining others from my writing group, and authors who have sent in their stories, in a guided critique session.
  • Saturday 12pm – 2pm “Getting Ideas” (free) writing workshop with the fabulous Gaie Sebold.
    We’ll be playing lots of different games to get you writing, sprinkled with a little writing theory. Sign up at the info desk to come and join in. Numbers will be limited.
  • Sunday 1pm – 3pm  “Creating Characters” (also free) writing workshop, also with Gaie.
    What is a ‘good’ character? Where do characters come from? What is a character made of? This workshop will answer these questions and give you tools and exercises to create proactive, memorable and engaging characters. Again, if you’d like to join us, please sign up at the info desk.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to write a very long and thorough list of things to pack. And if you’re going too, may your con be a good one!

Leave a Reply

